7.—Provinces and Territories	of Canada, with	present Areas,	Dates of Admission to
Confederation and L	egislative Process	by which this	was effected.

Province, Territory	Admission			Legislative Process.	Present Area (square miles).		
or District.				Degistative i focess.	Land.	Water.	Total.
Ontario	July	1.	1867	[Act of Imperial Parliament—]	365,880	41,382	407,2621
Quebec	46		1867	The British North America	690,865	15,969	
Nova Scotia	66	1.	1867	Act, 1867 (30-31 Vict., c. 3), and	21,068	360	
New Brunswick	"	1,	1867	Imperial Order in Council of May 22, 1867.	27,911	74	
Manitoba	"	15,	1870	Manitoba Act, 1870 (33 Vict., c. 3) and Imperial Order in Council, June 23, 1870.	231,926	19,906	251,8323
British Columbia	64	20,	1871	Imperial Order in Council, May 16, 1871.	353,416	2,439	3 55,855
P. E. Island	"	1,	1873	Imperial Order in Council, June 26,	2,184	-	2,184
Saskatchewan	Sept.	1,	1905	Saskatchewan Act, 1905 (4-5 Edw. VII, c. 42).	243,381	8,319	251,7004
Alberta	"	1,	1905	Alberta Act, 1905 (4-5 Edw. VII, c. 3).	252,925	2,360	255,2854
Yukon	June	13,	1898	Yukon Territory Act, 1898 (61) Vict., c. 6).	206,427	649	207,076
Mackenzie	Jan.	1.	1920	(493,225	34,265	527,4905
Keewatin	- 44		1920	Order in Council, March 16, 1918	218,460	9,700	
Franklin	66		1920	[[546,53 2	7,500	
Total					3,654,200	142,923	3,797,1235

¹This area was increased by the Canada (Ontario Boundary) Act, 1889, and the Ontario Boundaries Extension Act, 1912 (2 Geo. V, c. 40).

Increased by Order in Council of July 6, 1896, and Quebec Boundaries Extension Act, 1912 (2 Geo. V, c. 45).

³Increased by Extension of Boundaries of Manitoba Act, 1881, and Manitoba Boundaries Extension Act, 1912 (2 Geo. V, c. 32).

⁴Alberta and Saskatchewan now cover approximately the area formerly comprised in the districts of Assiniboia, Athabaska, Alberta and Saskatchewan, established May 17, 1882, by minute of Canadian P.C. concurred in by Dominion Parliament and Order in Council of Oct. 2, 1895.

⁵By an Order in Council of June 23, 1870, Rupert's Land, acquired under the Rupert's Land Acts of 1867 and 1868, and the undefined Northern Territories were admitted into the Confederation. The original Northwest Territories, mentioned in the Manitoba Act, 1870, were established by the Northwest Territories Act, 1880 (43 Vict., c. 25), the district of Keewatin having been previously defined by an Act of the Dominion Parliament (39 Vict., c. 21). The provisional districts of Yukon, Mackenzie, Franklin and Ungava were defined in an Order in Council of Oct. 2, 1895, their boundaries being changed by Order in Council of Dec. 18, 1897. By Order in Council of July 24, 1905, the area of Keewatin, not included in the Northwest Territories, was annexed to the latter from Sept. 1, 1905. By the Extension of Boundaries Act, 1912, Ungava was made a part of the province of Quebec, and the remaining area of the Northwest Territories south of 60° N. latitude was divided between Manitoba and Ontario.

In each of the provinces the King is represented by a Lieutenant-Governor, appointed by the Governor-General in Council, and governing with the advice and assistance of his Ministry or Executive Council, which is responsible to the Legislature and resigns office when it ceases to enjoy the confidence of that body. The Legislatures of all the provinces with the exception of Quebec and Nova Scotia are uni-cameral, consisting of a Legislative Assembly elected by the people. In Quebec and Nova Scotia there is a Legislative Council as well as a Legislative Assembly.

The Lieutenant-Governors of the provinces, together with the names of the Ministers of the present administrations, are given in Table 8. For a detailed description of the Provincial Governments, the reader is referred to Section IV of the Year Book of 1922-23, "Provincial and Local Government." Details regarding Provincial Legislatures and Ministries since Confederation were given on pp. 75-84 of the 1924 Year Book.